MEKNES ENGLISH CORNER

RESPONDING TO GOOD AND BAD NEWS: unit 8

 

 

RESPONDING TO GOOD AND BAD NEWS:

 

RESPONDING TO GOOD NEWS

RESPONDING TO BAD NEWS

That’s great! / Congratulations! / That’s wonderful! /

I’m glad to hear that/ Great news!/ Incredible!/ Superb!/ Sounds great! / Lucky you! / Oh, how wonderful! / Really? I can’t believe that! / Wow! That sounds exciting! / That’s fantastic!

I’m awfully sorry that… / I’m sorry to hear that. /

I hope there is nothing wrong. / I’m ever so sorry. /

It’s such a frightening experience. / I’m sorry to hear such terrible news/ My goodness! / I can’t believe it!

Poor you! / I’m awfully sorry to hear that. / I do sympathize with you. / Please, accept my deepest sympathy. / I know how you must be feeling. / that must be awful!

 

Examples:

Rim:  I’ve passed my driving test.

Ilias: That’s great!

Rim:  Thank you very much.

 

Karima: I’ve learnt all my irregular verbs by heart.

Souad:   That’s wonderful!

Karima: Thanks.

 

Loubna:  What’s the problem, Oualid?

Oualid:    My father had a bad car accident this morning.

Loubna:  I’m sorry to hear such terrible news.

 

Jalila:     You look pale, Lamiae! Are you sick?

Rajae:    No, but somebody wanted to steal my handbag a few minutes ago. I was so scared because 

                 he was holding a knife, but fortunately he ran away when he saw a policeman coming   

                 towards us.

Jalila:     It’s such a frightening experience.

 

Rachid:  We’ll establish a clean-air association in our town. Would you like to join us?

Samy:     Superb! I wouldn’t miss such an initiative.

 

Son:        Did you hear that? A new civil war has broken in central Africa.

Father:   My goodness! I hope it won’t last for long.

Son:         But, the UN will send soldiers to establish order there.

Father:   Great! They’ll surely calm down things there.

 

Rachid : We’ll establish a clean-air association in our town. Would you like to join us?

Samy:     Superb! I wouldn’t miss such an initiative.

 

Amal:     What was yesterday’s anti-globalisation rally like?

Salim:    Some angry boys clashed with the police!

Amal:     I can’t believe it! I hope there weren’t any casualties!

Salim:    Fortunately, there weren’t.

RESPONDING TO GOOD NEWS

RESPONDING TO BAD NEWS

That’s great! / Congratulations! / That’s wonderful! /

I’m glad to hear that/ Great news!/ Incredible!/ Superb!/ Sounds great! / Lucky you! / Oh, how wonderful! / Really? I can’t believe that! / Wow! That sounds exciting! / That’s fantastic!

I’m awfully sorry that… / I’m sorry to hear that. /

I hope there is nothing wrong. / I’m ever so sorry. /

It’s such a frightening experience. / I’m sorry to hear such terrible news/ My goodness! / I can’t believe it!

Poor you! / I’m awfully sorry to hear that. / I do sympathize with you. / Please, accept my deepest sympathy. / I know how you must be feeling. / that must be awful!

 

Examples:

Rim:  I’ve passed my driving test.

Ilias: That’s great!

Rim:  Thank you very much.

 

Karima: I’ve learnt all my irregular verbs by heart.

Souad:   That’s wonderful!

Karima: Thanks.

 

Loubna:  What’s the problem, Oualid?

Oualid:    My father had a bad car accident this morning.

Loubna:  I’m sorry to hear such terrible news.

 

Jalila:     You look pale, Lamiae! Are you sick?

Rajae:    No, but somebody wanted to steal my handbag a few minutes ago. I was so scared because 

                 he was holding a knife, but fortunately he ran away when he saw a policeman coming   

                 towards us.

Jalila:     It’s such a frightening experience.

 

Rachid:  We’ll establish a clean-air association in our town. Would you like to join us?

Samy:     Superb! I wouldn’t miss such an initiative.

 

Son:        Did you hear that? A new civil war has broken in central Africa.

Father:   My goodness! I hope it won’t last for long.

Son:         But, the UN will send soldiers to establish order there.

Father:   Great! They’ll surely calm down things there.

 

Rachid : We’ll establish a clean-air association in our town. Would you like to join us?

Samy:     Superb! I wouldn’t miss such an initiative.

 

Amal:     What was yesterday’s anti-globalisation rally like?

Salim:    Some angry boys clashed with the police!

Amal:     I can’t believe it! I hope there weren’t any casualties!

Salim:    Fortunately, there weren’t.



31/03/2011
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 11 autres membres