MEKNES ENGLISH CORNER

functions-unit 2 EXPRESSING LACK OF UNDERSTANDING AND ASKING FOR CLARIFICATION

 

 

FUNCTIONS

Asking For Clarification

In order to avoid misunderstanding one has to ask for clarification to make sure one understands the message in the right way. If one is asked for clarification one has to give it and check for understanding. Here are some useful expressions you can use in both situations:

Requesting Clarification

FORMAL

  • Excuse me. What was that again?
  • Pardon me. Would you mind repeating that?
  • Pardon me. Could you repeat that please?
  • I beg your pardon. Would you mind repeating that?
  • I’m sorry. I didn’t get the last part.
  • May I interrupt? Could you say that again please?
  • What? I didn’t catch that.
  • What did you say? I didn’t get the last part.
  • Huh? (impolite) You lost me.
  • I didn’t get that. Can you make yourself clear?
  • I am completely in the dark.
  • If I understand the terms correctly.............. Is that right?
  • Could you elaborate on that?
  • Do you mean......
  • I was under the impression that.........
  • Let me see if I have that right. .................. Is that so?
  • Use Question Tags.
  • I can’t understand.......
  • I am not sure I got your point.
  • Would you clarify that a little, please?
  • I mean that......
  • What I mean is that....
  • Does that make sense to you?
  • Am I making sense?
  • Am I clear enough?
  • Do you get that?
  • Have I made myself clear?
  • Do you see what I mean?
  • Do you understand so far?
  • Are you following me?
  • Did you catch that?
  • Do you understand?
  • Is that clear now?
  • Right?
  • Okay, so far?
  • Did you get that?
  • Got it?

INFORMAL

Asking for clarification for better understanding

Giving Clarification and checking for understanding.

FORMAL

INFORMAL

EXPRESSING LACK OF UNDERSTANDING AND ASKING FOR CLARIFICATION

Expressing lack of understanding

Asking for clarification

What do you mean?

Could you be more explicit/clear?

Would you repeat, please?

I’m afraid I really don’t understand  what you mean/you are saying.

Could you explain what you mean by this, please?

Do you mean……………………………..?

 

  FIND THE QUESTION:

Student: …………………………………………………………………………………………..?

 

Teacher: Well, “crucial” means very important.

 

 Rafik: ...............................................................................................?

 

 

Anas: I’m afraid I really don’t understand what you mean by brain drain is positive.



24/10/2011
1 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 11 autres membres