MEKNES ENGLISH CORNER

Little, a little / few, a few

 

Little, a little / few, a few

 

Little / a little

A little is more than little.

 

little + uncountable noun
little = nearly none, nearly nothing

little time, little food, little money

 

a little + unountable noun
a little = some but not much

a little time, a little food, a little money

 

Little is a negative idea.
We can also use very little.

 

I can't help you. I speak little English.
I can't help you. I speak very little English.
(My English is bad - I would like to know English better.)

 

Little has irregular comparative and superlative forms.

little - less - the least
a little - more - the most

 

A little is a positive idea.

I can help you: I speak a little English.

 



 

Few / a few

A few is more than few.

 

few + plural countable noun
few = nearly none

few people, few books, few letters

 

A few is a positive idea.

Fortunately, our finances are ok. We still have a few good customers.

 

Few is a negative idea.
We can also use very few.

 

I'm very sad. I have few good friends.
I'm very sad. I have very few good friends.
(I don't have many good friends - I would like to have more.)

 

Few has irregular comparative and superlative forms.

few - fewer - the fewest
a few - more - the most

 



25/02/2011
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 11 autres membres