MEKNES ENGLISH CORNER

DIRECT vs INDIRECT-UNIT 6

DIRECT AND INDIRECT SPEECH

 

There are two ways of presenting what a person has said: direct and indirect= reported.

 

In direct speech we repeat the original speaker’s exact words:

 

e.g. He said, “I want to go home”.

 

In indirect speech we give the exact meaning of a speech, without necessarily using the speaker’s exact words:

 

e.g. He said (that) he wanted to go home.

 

When we turn direct speech into indirect, some changes are necessary.

 

When the reporting verb is in the present simple, future simple (will+Verb) or present perfect (has/have+verb in the past participle form) there is no change in the verb tenses

 

e.g.  “I like my new house”

 

1===she says that she likes her new house    (says= Reporting verb in the present tense)

2=== she has said that she likes her new house (has said= reporting verb the present perfect)

3=== She will say that she needs money (will say= reporting verb in the future tense)

 

When the reporting verb is in the past, some changes must be respected: These changes are shown in the following table:

 

 

DIRECT SPEECH

 

INDIRECT SPEECH

Simple Present

He said, “I like my new house”.

 

Simple Past

He said (that) he liked his new house.

Present Continuous

He said, “I am waiting for her”.

 

Past Continuous

He said (that) he was waitingfor her.

Present Perfect

He said, “I have found her key”.

 

Past Perfect

He said (that) he had found her key.

Present Perfect Continuous

He said, “The baby has been sleeping  for 2 hours”.

 

Past Perfect Continuous

He said (that) the baby had been sleeping for 2 hours.

Simple Past

He said, “I took her to the cinema with me”.

Past perfect

He said, “I had wrapped the gift”.

Past continuous

He said, “ I was wrapping the gift”

Past perfect continuous

He said, “I had been wrapping the gift.”

 

Past Perfect

He said (that) he had taken her to the cinema with him.

Past perfect

He said(that) he had wrapped the gift.

Past perfect continuous

He said (that) he had been wrapping..

Past perfect continuous

He said (that) he had been wrapping the gift.

Future

He said, “I’ll ask Tom to help me”.

 

Conditional

He said (that) he would ask Tom to help him.

Future Continuous

He said, “I’ll be using the car myself on the 10th”.

 

Conditional Continuous

He said (that) he would be usingthe car himself on the 10th.

 

 

Would, should, ought to, might, used to, could and must usually remain unchanged.

 

e.g. He said, “Ann might ring any minute”.

        He said that Ann might ring any minute.

 

        He said, “I should be back by 10”.

        He said that he should be back by 10.

 

Pronouns and possessive adjectives usually change from first or second to third person except when the speaker is reporting his own words:

 

e.g. He said, “I like my new shoes”.

        He said that he liked his new shoes.

 

But I said, “I like my new shoes”.

        I said that liked my new shoes. (the speaker is reporting his own words)

 

 

In indirect speech adverbs and adverbial phrases of time and place as well as demonstrative pronouns change as follows:

 

DIRECT

 

INDIRECT

today

that day

yesterday

the day before

the day before yesterday

two days before

tomorrow

the next day / the following day 

the day after tomorrow

in two days’ time

next week / year etc.

the following week / yearetc.

last week / year etc.

the previous week / dayetc.

a year ago

a year before / the previous year

here

there

this

that

these

those

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When we turn direct questions into indirect, the following changes are necessary.

Tenses, pronouns and possessive adjectives, and adverbs of time and place change as in statements. The interrogative form of the verb changes to the affirmative form. The question mark (?) is omitted in indirect questions. If the introductory verb is say, it must be changed to a verb of inquiry, e.g. ask, inquire, wonder etc.

 

e.g. He said, “Where is the bus stop?”

        He asked where the bus stop was.

 

        He said, “Why is she crying?”

        He wondered why she was crying.

 

 

If the direct question begins with a question word (when, where, how, who, why etc.) the question word is repeated in the indirect question.

 

If there is no question word, if or whether must be used:

 

e.g. He said, “Did you see the accident?”

        He asked if / whether I had seen the accident.

 

        The policeman said, “Do you know Paul Smith?”

        The policeman inquired if / whether I knew Paul Smith.

 

 

Indirect command, requests, advice are usually expressed by a verb of command, request, advice + object + infinitive. The following verbs can be used instead of say: tell, order, ask, recommend, advise.

 

e.g.  He said, “Close the door”.

        He told / ordered me to close the door. (We must add a noun or pronoun.)

 

        He said, “Turn on the radio, please”.

        He asked me to turn on the radio. (Please is omitted.)

       

 

Negative commands, requests etc. are normally reported by not + infinitive:

 

e.g. He said, “Don’t interrupt me, Tom”.

        He told Tom not to interrupt him.

 

        He said, “Don’t go away, please”.

        He asked me not to go away.



31/03/2011
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 11 autres membres